Beauty · Product Reviews

Subculture vs Renaissance – first look (ABH)

Hi everyone! Long time no speak! Seeing as my first ever beauty blog post was an Anastasia Beverly Hills review, and it’s my most viewed post, I decided to come at you with another! I promise I will review some other brands but ABH is one of my favorites.

So this morning I received my Subculture palette, just 6 days after the release date and I immediately had to do some swatches and get a comparison for you guys! As I have only received the palette today this post will be purely first impressions from swatches and a side by side. I only bought the Modern Renaissance palette a few weeks ago and it has immediately become my go to.

Less intro, lets get in to comparing!

20590932_1620482987970122_983609371_o

Here is the Modern Renaissance palette. Super warm toned, beautiful oranges, red’s and burgundy’s, also full of fantastic transition shades. This palette has 2 shimmers  (Vermeer and Primavera) and the rest are matte. This palette does come with a brush however I seem to have misplaced it at the moment!

20615210_1620482984636789_1039070117_o.jpg

And here is the Subculture palette. A very different palette full of a wide selection of colours! This palette has more of an earthy feel still quite warm but more centre on the tertiary colours such as green, purple, mustard or browns. This palette comes with a slightly different brush to the Modern Renaissance, so I’m excited to try that!

20615217_1620482977970123_1268742332_o.jpg

Left is the swathes of the Modern Renaissance from left to right of the palette. Right is the swatches of the Subculture from left to right also. My swatching skills are not the best however I did feel as if the Subculture was more pigmented and I think this shows on the swatches. They feel extremely smooth and velvety, as does the Modern Renaissance!!

20597728_1620482951303459_1181914668_o.jpg20590557_1620482967970124_439666389_o.jpg

These two swatch photos are of the shimmers from both palettes. I had to do a singular swatch of the amazing shade Cube from Subculture. It’s so beautiful and iridescent I’m in love! Bottom is swatches of Electric, Adorn, Cube (Subculture) and Vermeer and Primavera (Modern Renaissance)

Lastly I thought I would compare all the warm nudish transition/crease colours from the palette:

20542825_1620482957970125_742629296_o

Left first 5 are from the Subculture palette: Dawn, Roxy, Fudge, New Wave and Edge

The rest are from the Modern Renaissance palette: Golden Ochre, Burnt Orange, Raw Sienna, Warm Taupe, Realgar and Cyprus Umber

As you can see both palettes have a good amount of warm earthy colours.

Thats all for today’s post, I’m not going to give my personal opinion on the palette just yet as I’ve had no time to play with it, but hopefully these comparison swatches give you an idea of which palette you may prefer (or both like me!)

Lots of love

Tiffany Xo

3 thoughts on “Subculture vs Renaissance – first look (ABH)

Leave a Reply

